2017 June Nelson Memorial Scholarship Winners Announced

14 Alaska High School Seniors and 1 College Freshman Awarded June Nelson Memorial Scholarships

On Friday, March 31, 2017 fourteen Alaska high school seniors were chosen out of 178 applicants to receive a $1,500 scholarship. In addition, one college freshman was awarded a $1,500 scholarship for the coming year. Previous scholarship winners can compete for an additional award the following year.

The scholarship, named after a long-time Kotzebue school board member, is an annual tradition of the Association of Alaska School Boards. Each year the association’s members, students and district superintendents gather to raise money that will be awarded to graduating seniors in Alaska.

This year the AASB June Nelson Scholarship Fund was able award fifteen, $1,500 scholarships. After a committee of 12 volunteers reviewed the applications based on grades, community service, student activities, cultural activities, letters of recommendation, and an essay, the group of over 178 outstanding applications was narrowed down to award the following students.

2017 June Nelson Memorial Scholarship Winners

Click on student names to read their essays

Samuel Blom, Tanalian HS, Lake and Peninsula SD

Tasha Elizarde, Juneau-Douglas HS, Juneau SD

Toua Her, Bartlett HS, Anchorage SD

Izabelle Ith, Petersburg HS, Petersburg SD

Angelena Lekanoff, Unalaska City HS, Unalaska City SD

Rylie Lyon, Bristol Bay HS, Bristol Bay SD

Colton Mack, Sand Point HS, Aleutians East Borough SD

Serenity Melendrez, Mincto HS, Yukon Koyukuk SD

Garret Miller, Wrangell HS, Wrangell Public SD

Shaelene Moler, Kake City HS, Kake City SD

Sarah Mae Quiliza, Kodiak HS, Kodiak Island Borough SD

Savannah Rizzo, Nikiski Middle/Senior HS, Kenai Peninsula Borough SD

Alison Smith, Tanalian HS, Lake and Peninsula SD

Lillian Vaughn, Ketchikan HS, Ketchikan Gateway Borough SD

College freshman winner (previous JNMS winner)

Purevdulam Enkhbat, Unalaska City HS/ UAA, Unalaska

The School Board President of their district or their designee will be asked to present these outstanding youth with a certificate of their scholarship award.

For more information regarding the June Nelson Memorial Scholarship, contact Lon Garrison, School Improvement Coordinator, (907) 463-1666.