Board of Directors

A 15 member Board of Directors, consisting of 11 directors and four officers governs AASB. The Board, elected by membership at the Annual Conference, represents all regions of the state. The membership, as a whole, passes the resolutions, which establish the positions taken by the Association before the legislature and other agencies throughout the year.



They are: (back row, left to right) Sarah Welton, Mat-Su; Cass Pook, Sitka; Clarence Daniel, LKSD; Kathleen Plunkett, Anchorage; Dana Mock, Delta/Greely; Ignatius “Iggy” Chayalkun, Kashunamiut; Barb Amarok, Nome; Penny Vadla, Kenai; (front row) Charlene ArnesonChugachAndi StoryJuneau; Past President Tiffany Jackson, Aleutians East; President Pete Hoepfner, Cordova; President-elect Mike Swain Jr., Bristol Bay; Secretary/Treasurer Angela Washington, Northwest Arctic; Tammy Pound, Unalaska.
(Read Director bios!)



Board Goals


Board Meeting Minutes


Suggested Reading and Resources

A list developed by AASB’s Board of Directors for new board members to better familiarize themselves with Alaska Native cultures and education in Alaska.


Upcoming AASB Board of Director Meetings

Nov. 14, 2016

March 31, 2017

July 21, 2017

Nov. 13, 2017