Enjoy These Top 20 “Honorable Mention” June Nelson Essays

“Tell a story that has helped shape you or reflects who you are today, and how that will move you into the future.”

That’s the writing prompt 178 student applicants responded to this year, the greatest number of June Nelson scholarship essay submissions AASB has ever received (previous record: 120).

While these 20 essays weren’t awarded scholarships, the judges felt they stood out. We present them here to give these talented students a shout-out for their honest, passionate writing and compelling storytelling.

For a captivating glimpse into the lives, challenges and dreams of young people from communities across Alaska, it’s well worth your time to give these short essays a read. (Average read time: 2-3 minutes per essay)

2017 June Nelson ‘Honorable Mention’ Essays

Click on student names to read their essays

Al Asuncion, Kodiak HS, Kodiak, Kodiak Island Borough SD

Braden Bowker, Colony HS, Wasilla, Matanuska-Susitna Borough SD

Ashlynn Burgess, Family Partnership Charter School, Anchorage, Anchorage SD

MiKayla Clark, Ninilchik School, Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula Borough SD

Cameron Edwards, Ketchikan HS, Ketchikan, Ketchikan Gateway Borough SD

Victoria Franciosi, Valdez HS, Valdez, Valdez City Schools

Jayne Hanna, Nuniwarmiut School, Mekoryuk, Lower Kuskokwim SD

Megan Hoke, Kotzebue High School, Kotzebue, Northwest Arctic Borough SD

Celeste Jensen, West Valley HS, Fairbanks, Fairbanks North Star Borough SD

Madeline Kleinschmidt, Soldotna HS, Soldotna, Kenai Peninsula Borough SD

Emily Koziczkowski, Kenai Central HS, Kenai, Kenai Peninsula Borough SD

MacKenzie Lindeman, Kenai Central HS, Soldotna, Kenai Peninsula Borough SD

Vance Lindsey, Eagle River HS, Eagle River, Anchorage SD

Desiree Lynch, Unalaska City HS, Unalaska, Unalaska SD

Henrietta Nicholai, Kuskokwim Learning Academy, Atmaukluak, Lower Kuskokwim SD

Carter Price, Unalaska HS, Unalaska, Unalaska City SD

Hope Quinn, Seward HS, Seward, Kenai Peninsula SD

Aanisah Robinson, Bartlett HS, Anchorage, Anchorage SD

Kyle Wisdom, Eagle River HS, Eagle River, Anchorage SD

Zania Zldjn Oller, Unalaska City School, Unalaska, Unalaska City SD