Board of Directors

A 15 member Board of Directors, consisting of 11 directors and four officers, governs AASB. The Board, elected by membership at the Annual Conference, represents all regions of the state. The membership, as a whole, passes the resolutions, which establish the positions taken by the Association before the legislature and other agencies throughout the year.

Group photo of 2019-2020 AASB Board of Directors.
The 2019-20 AASB Board of Directors are (Back row, Left to Right) Tillie Ticket, Northwest Arctic Borough; Dr. Barbara Amarok, Nome; Penny Vadla, Kenai; Clarence Daniel, Lower Kuskokwim; Deena Mitchell, Anchorage; Chrya Sanderson, Fairbanks North Star Borough; Wassillie Gust, Southwest Region; Dana Mock, Delta/Greely; (Front row, Left to Right) Pete Hoepfner, Cordova; Past President Tiffany Jackson, Aleutians East; President Michael Swain Jr., Bristol Bay; President-Elect Katie Oliver, Kodiak; Secretary/Treasurer Starr Marsett, Anchorage, and Marie Greene, Northwest Arctic Borough. Not pictured: Brian Holst, Juneau.
Upcoming Meetings
  • December 5, 2020, AASB Board of Directors Meeting. remote meeting.

Previous Meetings

Previous AASB and partner meetings listed by date, with links to meeting minutes.








Board Goals

Board Goals (2019-2022)

Goal 1: Empower our boards to transform educational systems to increase the academic success of Alaska native students and increase graduation rates of Alaska native students who are ground in their cultural identity with the ability to successfully pursue their goals.

Goal 2: Strengthen the positive political influence of AASB at the local, state and national level.

Goal 3: Support local school boards and districts to partner with families, youth, and their communities in shaping and enriching the education of all Alaska’s children.

Goal 4: Support school boards and districts to collaborate and implement creative solutions to deliver personalized learning, and prepare Alaska’s children and youth for their future.

Goal 5: Sustain the association by strengthening AASB’s capacity to provide board development, preparing board members for effective governance while highlighting educational trends.

AASB Pathways (Long Range Plan 2019 – 2022)

Board Liaison Network Contacts

Pete Hoepfner (Cordova)

  • Kashunamiut
  • Lower Yukon

(No Current Contact)

  • Hydaburg
  • Copper River
  • Iditarod
  • Kuspuk

Penny Vadla (Kenai)

  • Denali
  • Nenana
  • Anchorage

Michael Swain (Bristol Bay)

  • Dillingham
  • Southwest Region
  • Craig
  • Unalaska

Tillie Ticket (NWABSD)

  • Wrangell
  • Petersburg
  • Pelican

Wassillie Gust (Southwest Region)

  • Aleutian Region (with Norm)
  • Skagway
  • Yupiit
  • Tanana

Deena Mitchell (Anchorage)

  • Fairbanks
  • Kodiak
  • Yukon Flats

Katie Oliver (Kodiak)

  • Chugach
  • Annette Island
  • Cordova

Starr Marsett (Anchorage)

  • Aleutians East
  • Bristol Bay
  • Pribilof
  • Lake & Peninsula

Dana Mock (Delta/Greely)

  • Delta/Greely
  • Galena
  • Yukon Koyukuk
  • Alaska Gateway

Barb Amarok (Nome)

  • Lower Kuskokwim
  • North Slope
  • Bering Strait

Chrya Sanderson (FNSBSD)

  • Saint Mary’s
  • Nome
  • Southeast Island

Tiffany Jackson (AEBSD)

  • Chatham
  • Haines
  • Sitka
  • Juneau

Marie Greene (NWABSD)

  • Hoonah
  • Kake
  • Klawock
  • Ketchikan

Clarence Daniel (LKSD)

  • Northwest Arctic
  • Kenai
  • Yakutat
Board Committees


  • Tiffany Jackson – Chair
  • Katie Oliver
  • Dana Mock
  • Tillie Ticket
  • Deena Mitchell


  • Pete Hoepfner – Chair
  • Tiffany Jackson
  • Michael Swain
  • Wassillie Gust
  • Penny Vadla
  • Tillie Ticket
  • Marie Greene

Ad Hoc Advocacy

  • Deena Mitchell – Chair
  • Pete Hoepfner
  • Chrya Sanderson
  • Barb Amarok
  • Marie Greene

Constitution & Bylaws

  • Starr Marsett – Chair
  • 1st Judicial District
  • 2nd Judicial District
  • 3rd Judicial District
  • 4th Judicial District


  • Dana Mock – Chair
  • Wassillie Gust
  • Clarence Daniel


  • Barb Amarok – Chair
  • Starr Marsett
  • Penny Vadla
  • Dana Mock

Alaska School Activities Association

  • Clarence Daniel
Suggested Reading and Resources for New School Board Members

A list developed by AASB’s Board of Directors for new board members to better familiarize themselves with Alaska Native cultures and education in Alaska.

Becoming a Better Board Member
By National School Boards Association

Alaska School Board Handbook

Yuuyaraq: The Way of the Human Being
By Harold Napoleon

Journey to Wholeness
By Stan DeKoven

Raising Ourselves and Two Old Women
By Velma Wallace

Habits of Mind
By Arthur Costa and Bena Kallick

Blonde Indian
By Ernestine Hayes

Two in the Far North
By Margaret E. Murie

50 Miles from Tomorrow
By William L. Iggiagruk Hensley

Another Culture/Another World
By Father Michael Oleksa

Blessings Bead and My Name is Not Easy
By Debby Dahl Edwardson

The Alaska Pen (An Illustrated History of Unga)
By Thor Lauritzen, Peggy Arness, and Edward Melseth

Mindset: The New Psychology of Success
By Carol Dweck

Board Basics: A Primer For Non-Profit Board Members
By Jerry Covey

Fall Down 7 Times, Get Up 8 (Teaching Kids to Succeed)
By Debbie Silver

Mary’s Wild Winter Feast
By Hannah Lindoff

Attu Boy
By Nick Golodoff

Conflicting Visions in Alaska Education
By Richard Dauenhauer

A Small Window into the Life of An Aleut Bentwood Hat Carver
By Andrew Gronholdt

Reign of Error
By Diane Ravitch

People of the Noatak
By Claire Fejes

Nick Jans books

History of the Iñupiat: Nipaa I!itqusipta/The Voice of Our Spirit
Directed by Rachel Naninaaq Edwardson

Bully (documentary) (watch on veoh)
Directed by Lee Hirsch