2016 June Nelson Scholarship Winners

Ten Alaska High School Seniors and 2 College Freshmen Awarded June Nelson Memorial Scholarships

March 29, 2016

Ten Alaska high school seniors have been chosen out of 123 applications to receive a $1,200 scholarship. In addition, two college freshmen were awarded $1,200 scholarships for the coming year. The scholarship, named after a long-time Kotzebue school board member, is an annual tradition of the Association of Alaska School Boards. Each year the association’s members, students and district superintendents gather to raise money that will be awarded to graduating seniors in Alaska. Previous scholarship winners can compete for and additional award the following year.

This year AASB members and friends raised enough money to award twelve, $1200 scholarships. After a committee of 8 volunteers reviewed the applications based on grades, community service, activities, letters of recommendation, and an essay, the group of over 100 outstanding applications was narrowed down to the following students:

Name School District


Madison Attla Jimmy Huntington (Huslia) Yukon Koyukuk
Ellen Carty-Seccomb Kodiak Kodiak Island Borough
Jennifer DeGraffenried West Anchorage Anchorage
Purevdulam Enkhdat Unalaska Unalaska City
Jordan Finney Ninilchik Kenai Peninsula
Bernadette Franulovich Ketchikan Ketchikan Gateway Borough
Shirley Igkurak Kwigillingok Lower Kuskokwim
Julius Reed West Anchorage Anchorage
Sarah Tate Petersburg Petersburg
Emma Wetter Dillingham Dillingham City

College freshmen winners (previous JNMS winners)

Student High School/college District
Ciera Kelly Thunder Mt. Juneau
Kaya Duguay Sitka Sitka

These outstanding youth will be presented with the scholarship by the school board president of their district.

For more information regarding the June Nelson Memorial Scholarship, contact Lon Garrison, School Improvement Coordinator (907) 463-1666.