June Nelson Memorial Scholarship

june nelsonAASB is pleased to honor the late June Nelson,long-time school board member from Kot­zebue. June contributed much to the cause of education through her long career as a school board member. She had many accomplishments during her service as an edu­cation activist. She served on the Northwest Arctic Bor­ough School Board and was appointed by two different governors to serve on the State Board of Education. June gave unselfishly of herself. She served on numerous local and statewide committees in a demonstration of com­mitment to community.

We remember June for her ability to make us laugh when we were in the midst of an intense debate. She could fiercely disagree with you on an issue and yet set it aside to maintain a friendly,respectful relationship. She challenged us to be the best we could be. She filled our lives with laughter and fun times. Most important, we will remember June for her outstanding service on behalf of Alaska’s children.


2016 Scholarship Recipients

Name School District


Madison Attla Jimmy Huntington (Huslia) Yukon Koyukuk
Ellen Carty-Seccomb Kodiak Kodiak Island Borough
Jennifer DeGraffenried West Anchorage Anchorage
Purevdulam Enkhdat Unalaska Unalaska City
Jordan Finney Ninilchik Kenai Peninsula
Bernadette Franulovich Ketchikan Ketchikan Gateway Borough
Shirley Igkurak Kwigillingok Lower Kuskokwim
Julius Reed West Anchorage Anchorage
Sarah Tate Petersburg Petersburg
Emma Wetter Dillingham Dillingham City


College freshmen winners (2015 JNMS recipients)

Student High School/college District
Ciera Kelly Thunder Mt. Juneau
Kaya Duguay Sitka Sitka